Friday, December 9, 2011

Triple Dog Dare by Jeremy Jones





I recently had the privilege of reviewing Triple Dog Dare, by
Jeremy Jones.  It's a book of devotionals targeting boys 9 - 12
years old via real-life scenarios and activities. Each day is filled
with short Scriptures, concise biblical truth and a daily dare,
all challenging them to put their faith into practice. Scripture
readings from every book of the Bible open up the action-packed
Word of God. Whether it’s drawing comic strips of biblical
battles, dreaming up a life list of goals, making snack packs
for the homeless or producing Bible-based movies, boys will
go on daily dynamic experiences with God, taking faith off the
page and setting it into motion. Themes cover the daily realities
of pre-teen males, including bullying, peer pressure, girls, sibling
rivalry, honesty and more.

My oldest son is 8, but he loves the book and we always have fun
relating each devotional to his life.  Plus, I've noticed that since we
began the book, he's really putting God's word into action...at
home, school, sports, etc.  Gotta love that!  And, I think it will be
an invaluable resource for us as he gets older and faces more and
more trials.  I also look forward to sharing it with Luke in a few years.




About the author:


Jeremy V. Jones is an award-winning journalist who has
served as senior associate editor of Breakaway magazine.
He has authored several books, including Toward the Goal:
The Kaka Story and The Keeper: The Tim Hoard Story. He
also writes for magazines such as Clubhouse and Christianity
Today. He resides with his wife and two children in Colorado.


 I received this book free-of-charge, in exchange for an honest review.
The opinions in this post are my own and were not influenced.
Thank you to the publisher and B&B Media for including me!

Friday, October 28, 2011

Extra® Dessert Delights® gum Fan Flavorite Vote


If you're a gum chewer or have a sweet tooth, you're probably already familiar with Extra Dessert Delights. Inspired by real desserts, the indulgent flavors offer an irresistible treat for only 5 calories. The mouth-watering Dessert Delights lineup includes Orange Crème Pop, Apple Pie, Mint Chocolate Chip, Strawberry Shortcake and Key Lime Pie. There's a new sweet flavor on the way and that's where you come in! Let's meet the candidates.




Gum chewers everywhere will be able to choose among Bananas Foster, Root Beer Float and Lemon Square flavors. The Lemon Square flavor was inspired by the winning dessert of last night's Quickfire Challenge in the Bravo series "Top Chef Just Desserts." Until November 12, 2011, fans can vote for their favorite Extra Dessert Delights flavor as often as inspired on www.facebook.com/extragum and on their mobile phones via m.extragumvote.com.

The winner of the Fan Flavorite Vote will be announced on November 16, 2011. 


"Disclosure: I was entered for a chance to win an Extra® Dessert Delights® gum prize package in exchange for this post.  No monetary exchange took place."

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Baby, It's Cold Outside by Susan May Warren

Hope finds the hopeless when a storm hits. 



It's Christmas weekend 1949, and despite the threat of a storm, the townspeople of Frost are determined to continue their holiday traditions, if only as a means to forget the war that they had all just suffered through. But the suffering hasn't ended for Dottie Morgan who lost her only son in the war. She's preparing to wallow in her isolation for the weekend, when Violet, nearly a spinster at age 29, dares to make a request that will force Dottie to publicly revive the memory of her dead son.

When a storm traps the two women at home with a strange young man who has an unbelievable confession and a neighbor with more to do with Violet's past than she would like, no one can predict how this Christmas will give them all a second chance. 



This was such a beautiful read, full of love, hope and nostalgia.  I adored the characters of Gordy and Violet, but all of the characters were so well crafted, I felt like I knew them.  This was the perfect book to read during the cool nights we've recently had.  The story truly warmed my heart, and I can't wait to read Susan's next book.



 Susan May Warren is an award-winning, best-selling author of over twenty-five novels, many of which have won the Inspirational Readers Choice Award, the ACFW Book of the Year award, the Rita Award, and have been Christy finalists. After serving as a missionary for eight years in Russia, Susan returned home to a small town on Minnesota’s beautiful Lake Superior shore where she, her four children, and her husband are active in their local church.

Susan's larger than life characters and layered plots have won her acclaim with readers and reviewers alike. A seasoned women’s events and retreats speaker, she’s a popular writing teacher at conferences around the nation and the author of the beginning writer’s workbook: From the Inside-Out: discover, create and publish the novel in you!. She is also the founder ofwww.MyBookTherapy.com, a story-crafting service that helps authors discover their voice.

Susan makes her home in northern Minnesota, where she is busy cheering on her two sons in football, and her daughter in local theater productions (and desperately missing her college-age son!)  A full listing of her titles, reviews and awards can be found at:www.susanmaywarren.com.


Warm up to Chrismtas early this year with Susan May Warren's Baby, It's Cold Outside! To celebrate the release of her new Christmas book with Summerside Press, she and the publisher are giving away a Kindle Fire and hosting an early Christmas Party on Facebook!








One festive winner will receive:


  • A brand new Kindle Fire
  • Baby, It's Cold Outside by Susan May Warren
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. Giveaway ends on 10/26!






But, wait there’s more! Join Susan May Warren on 10/27 for merriment and a few early Christmas presents at her Baby, It's Cold Outside Christmas party! Grab your Christmas sweaters, socks and pj’s and join Susan and a few friends for a fireside chat about her recent books (Heiress & Baby, It’s Cold Outside), holiday traditions, favorite Christmas recipes, a trivia contest and more! Invite your friends and don’t miss the fun!






RSVP here and we'll see you on October 27th at 5 PM PST / 8 PM EST!



Enter via E-mail Enter via FacebookEnter via Twitter



***I received this book free of charge, in exchange for an honest review.
The opinions expressed are my own and were not influenced in any manner.***

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Defiants 4x4s

Defiants 4x4s are mighty, mini, motorized 4x4s that can take on any challenge, and even have real gears, for Power, Speed and Freewheeling Action!  They automatically shift into freewheeling mode for insane stunt jumps or reckless downhill runs...with blazing headlights light the way.  And, now they are only $5.99 at Target!






The Defiants FlexTerrain system is fully modular, with playsets and accessories that can be customized into endless configurations. Each playset connects with every other set for rich, off-road action and expanding play value.


Defiants BlitzForce military-themed vehicles and playsets honor the spirit of freedom and power that kids love!


Vehicles are powered by two AAA batteries.


***Information provided by One2One Network.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Remember Why You Play - Review



I just received (and quickly finished) Remember Why You Play
by David Thomas.  It's a book about football...and so, so much more.



"The Tornadoes were winless in eight games and
had scored only two touchdowns all season." 

This book really made me appreciate all of the blessings
God has bestowed on me, and also inspired me to think
outside the box when it comes to blessing others.  I
adore the coach's attitude.  I loved all of the emotion
shared by those in the book.  I can't wait to see the movie.

If you're looking for a powerful and inspiring story, you
have to read this book.  You won't be able to put it down.
And, a bonus is that your hubby will love it, too!



I received this book free of charge from Tyndale, in exchange 
for an honest review.  My opinion was not influenced in any manner.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - Review



We just received and read Hermie, a Common Caterpillar
by Max Lucado.  We've always loved Hermie, and especially
God's loving message to him, "I'm not finished with you yet!"
So, we were all excited to get this new version.



The message is sweetly delivered, in a fun manner.  My
three year old loved everything about it.  My 7-year old
loved that he could easily read the book.  All of that makes
this mom smile, not to mention it's a beautiful book.


You really can't go wrong with anything Max Lucado
delivers, and this is now on my list of faves.  Go get it...
and grab one for a friend!



***I received this book free of charge from BookSneeze, in exchange for an honest
review.  My thoughts were not influenced in any manner.***

Thursday, September 22, 2011

ZhuZhu Pets® movie: the Quest for Zhu™


Do your kids love ZhuZhu Pets?  Then, check this out...




It's the final Trailer Tuesday before the grand debut of the ZhuZhu Pets® movie: the Quest for Zhu™. We have got a spectacular surprise for Zhu: A sneak peak of the adorable music video, "No Place Like Here™." Watch as Jilly the cheerleader sings this catchy song and gives you a sneak peek of scenes from the movie. Not only do the ZhuZhu Pets show off their incredible musical talents, but you get a firsthand glimpse of our loveable cast and the land of Zhu!  
             
Don't forget to check out the Quest for Zhu when it hits shelves this September 27th. You won't want to miss this lively tale full of adventure, humor, and song where Pipsqueak learns that sometimes all you've ever dreamed of is simply waiting for you at home!
 

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Are you ready for Christmas???

It’s Christmas in September!



To celebrate the release of her first Christmas book, Suzanne Woods Fisher has teamed up with her publisher, Revell, to bring you the "Christmas in September" iPad Giveaway! The winner will be announced on 9/27 at the A Lancaster County Christmas Facebook Party! Details below. Tell your friends and join in the fun (9/7-9/27).



Oh and be sure to follow the blog tour here - many of the bloggers have copies of the book to giveaway! 







Suzanne and Revell will be presenting one merry winner with a Christmas Prize Pack (valued at over $600):



  • A Brand New iPad 2 with Wi-Fi
  • $25 gift certificate to iTunes
  • A copy of A Lancaster County Christmas


To enter, click one of the icons below. But, hurry the giveaway ends on 9/26.



But, wait! There's more! The winner will be announced at the A Lancaster County Christmas Facebook Party on 9/27 at Suzanne's author page. During the party she'll be revealing something *BIG* - you won't want to miss it. She'll also be hosting a book chat, trivia contest and giving away a few early Christmas presents! Hope to see you there.





Enter via E-mail Enter via FacebookEnter via Twitter

The Hellmann's Chicken-Challenge!

Watch celeb dad and actor Mark Consuelos, renowned chef Tim Love and lifestyle expert Sissy Biggers try to win over the crowd and champion for their favorite Hellmann's chicken recipe.



What:   Hellmann's Live Chicken Challenge
Where: Live stream at Facebook.com/Hellmanns
When:  Tuesday, Sept. 20th at 12:10pm EST


Like Twitter?  Watch @MarkConsuelos @cheftimlove & @sissybigg face off for @Hellmanns #ChickenChallenge! Tue 9/20 @ 12:10PM ET http://on.fb.me/ndZezh





And, don't forget to visit Hellmanns.com to try one of the weekly Challenge recipes, vote for your favorites, and enter the weekly sweepstakes.


Disclosure: I was entered for a chance to win a Hellmann's® prize package in exchange for this post.  No monetary exchange took place. All opinions are my own.

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Gabby, God's Little Angel



This first book in a delightful new series by Shelia Walsh offers a comforting message for young readers-God loves you very much and is always watching over you!

What little girl wouldn't love her very own guardian angel? Parents and children alike will be won over by this humorous tale of Gabby, a guardian angel in training who has much to learn about taking care of God's little ones. Her new assignment is to protect a young girl named Sophie, but Gabby soon realizes that watching after Sophie is a bigger challenge than she had expected! After a close call while riding her pony, Sophie learns what the Bible says about guardian angels: "He will put his angels in charge of you. They will watch over you wherever you go" (Psalm 91:11 ICB).




(Official release on September 20th)